Which crops grown in which soil?

Which crops grown in which soil?

What Is Soil?

Variants Loamy Soil Clayey Soil
Properties Rich in humus and fertile Sticky
Retains water well Very little air present
Contains clay in tiny amounts Porous Rich in organic matter
Crops suitable for growing Cereals – Wheat, gram, Sugarcane, Jute, Vegetables Cereals – Wheat, gram, Paddy Lentils, Pulses

What are the different soil types in India?

Alluvial Soils. Alluvial soils are by far the largest and the most important soil group of Ind ia.

  • Black Soils. The Black soil are so called because of their black colouration and derived from t he Basalt rock under semi-arid conditions.
  • Black Soils…..
  • Black Soils…..
  • Red Soil.
  • Laterite soil.
  • 42 lakh Sq Km.
  • Mountain soil.
  • What are the 6 types of soil in India?

    They are alluvial soil, black soil, red soil, laterite soil, or arid soil, and forest and mountainous soil,marsh soil.

    What are the 8 types of soil in India?

    In India, the Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR) has classified soils into 8 categories. Alluvial Soil, Black Cotton Soil, Red Soil, Laterite Soil, Mountainous or Forest Soils, Arid or Desert Soil, Saline and Alkaline Soil, Peaty, and Marshy Soil are the categories of Indian Soil.

    Which crop is grown in black soil?

    Crops in Black Soils These soils are best suited for cotton crop. Hence these soils are called as regur and black cotton soils. Other major crops grown on the black soils include wheat, jowar, linseed, virginia tobacco, castor, sunflower and millets.

    Where is black soil found?

    Black soils are derivatives of trap lava and are spread mostly across interior Gujarat, Maharashtra, Karnataka, and Madhya Pradesh on the Deccan lava plateau and the Malwa Plateau, where there is both moderate rainfall and underlying basaltic rock.

    Which soil is known as lava soil?

    Black soil
    Black soil is formed by the weathering or breaking process of igneous rocks. Then by cooling or solidification of lava originated from the volcano eruption. Hence, it is also called lava soil.

    What is black soil made up of?

    Why is the soil black? This soil is black in colour mainly because it is formed by weathering of lava rocks and are high iron, alumina and magnesia content and is best suitable for cotton crop production.

    Which soil is known as black cotton soil?

    The type of soil is determined by numerous… …are often referred to as regur but are popularly known as “black cotton soils,” since cotton has been the most common traditional crop in areas where they are found.

    On the basis of genesis, colour, composition and location, the soils of India have been classified into: (i) Alluvial soils (ii) Black soils (iii) Red and Yellow soils (iv) Laterite soils (v) Arid soils (vi) Saline soils (vii) Peaty soils (viii) Forest soils.

    Why different types of crops can be grown in India?

    Soil Type: Old alluvial soil. India is the seventh largest producer worldwide. It is used both as food and fodder. Use of modern inputs such as High-Yielding Variety seeds, fertilisers and irrigation have contributed to the increasing production of maize.

    What are 6 types of soil?

    There are six main soil groups: clay, sandy, silty, peaty, chalky and loamy….The Six Types of Soil

    1. Clay Soil. Clay soil feels lumpy and is sticky when wet and rock hard when dry.
    2. Sandy Soil.
    3. Silty Soil.
    4. Peaty Soil.
    5. Chalky Soil.
    6. Loamy Soil.

    What are the 4 soil types?

    OSHA classifies soils into four categories: Solid Rock, Type A, Type B, and Type C. Solid Rock is the most stable, and Type C soil is the least stable. Soils are typed not only by how cohesive they are, but also by the conditions in which they are found.

    What are the 8 type of soil?

    They are (1) Alluvial soils, (2) Black soils, (3) Red soils, (4) Laterite and Lateritic soils, (5) Forest and Mountain soils, (6) Arid and Desert soils, (7) Saline and Alkaline soils and (8) Peaty and Marshy soils (See Fig.

    Which is the main food crop of India?

    The principal food grain of India is rice. In terms of rice production, the country holds the second position all over the world. Rice is grown in approximately 34% of the overall cropped territory of the country. Rice production comprises 42% of the overall food crop production in the country.

    What are the three classifications of crops?

    Annual Crops: They are crops which grow and mature within one year e.g. melon, maize, rice, wheat, groundnut, cowpea, cotton etc.

  • Biennial Crops: They are crops which grow and mature within two years e.g. cassava, pepper, ginger etc.
  • Perennial Crops: They are those crops that grow and mature in more than two years.
  • Which soil is known as black soil 10?

    regur soil
    Black soil is also known as regur soil. The word “regular” comes from the Latin word regurgitate which means to overflow. Since this soil is formed as a result of lava flows, it is known as regular soil. Its colour varies from deep black to grey.

    Is another name of black soil?

    Black soil is also known as black cotton soil or the regur soil.

    Which is the best soil to grow crops in India?

    They are sandy and somewhat acidic, and are also low in nitrogen and phosphorous. Despite this, red and yellow soils are used to grow rice, wheat, sugarcane, millet, groundnut, ragi and potato. There are various other types of soil in India, but none of them is suitable for growing crops.

    What are the different types of crops in India?

    A crop is a plant that is cultivated or grown on a large scale. Crops are generally grown so they can be commercially traded. i.e any plant that is grown and harvested extensively for profit purposes. There are two major types of crops that are grown in India.

    What kind of crops can be grown in agri soil?

    However, there are many other crops which can be grown in these soils are; Rice and sugarcane, wheat, jowar, linseed, sunflower, cereal crops, citrus fruits, vegetables, tobacco, groundnut, any oilseed crops and millets.

    What are the three cropping seasons in India?

    India has three cropping seasons — rabi, kharif and zaid. Rabi: Rabi crops are also known as winter crops. They are sown from October to December and harvested from April to June.

    What are the most important food crops in India?

    1) Corn 2) Soy 3) Hay 4) Wheat 5) Cotton

    How many types of crops are there in India?

    There are three different types of crops that are cultivated throughout India. Each type is grown in a different season depending on their compatibility with certain weather. Kharif crops are grown at the start of the monsoon until the beginning of the winter, relatively from June to November.

    What types of crops were grown in India?

    • Rice occupies first position in the country by the sown area and it also occupies first position in
    • etc.
    • etc.

      What crop is grown the most in India?

      1. Rice: It is the chief food crop of India. The chief rice-growing states are West Bengal, U.P., Tamil Nadu Andhra Pradesh and Haryana. It is also grown in several other parts of India. Due to Japanese method of rice cultivation the production of rice has increased, but even then India is just self-sufficient in rice.

    Related Posts